Indiana Girls Volleyball


2019 Games

Date: Saturday, November 23rd, 2019

Coach Don Shondell and Coach Mike Walker

The Shondells. John Shondell, Assistant Head Coach at Purdue, Don Shondell, Dave Shondell, Head Coach at Purdue, Steve Shondell, Head Coach at Burris High School.

Don Shondell (middle). Long-time men’s volleyball coach at Ball State University, poses with four of the eight winners of the Don Shondell Mental Attitude Award at the PostYourT East/West All-Star Volleyball Games held at Munciana in Yorktown Saturday, Nov. 26. In the photo, left to right, are Helaina Walters from Eastbrook, Payton Morris from Indianapolis Bishop Chatard, Shondell, Keila Bennett from North Harrison, and Shayln McCorkle from Tri-Central. Photo by David Risley / C-T photo


2019 Game Recaps

The 9th Annual PostYourT Don Shondell All-Star Volleyball Games were held on Saturday November 23, 2019 at the Munciana Volleyball complex in Yorktown, Indiana. There were three girls matches. Each match had three sets, first team to 25 points winning that set. The team having the most total points after the three sets were played was declared the winner of the match.

PostYourT gave the Don Shondell Mental Attitude Award after each match to a player from each team.

Rosters and results for each of the matches are below.

Match 1 at 10 a.m.
East 25-11, East 25-19, East 25-23; Total: East 75, West 53

Both teams played hard and the West came closer every set, but the East swept all three sets. Receiving the Don Shondell Award were Molly Hunt of Delta from the East and Haylea Crandall of Crawford County from the West.

East Roster
Baylee Rudolph and Morgan Friedholdt from North Harrison; Addy Frye from Traders Point Christian; Abigail Hunter from Northfield; Mia Edwards from Oak Hill; Lili Hunt from Eastern Hancock; Sarah Adam from New Palestine; Molly Hunt from Delta; and Mia Catey from Mississinewa.

West Roster
Christian Towne, Hannah Houston, and Molly Conley from Rochester; Jacqui Alsman and Emma Wampler from North Knox; Jade Finley from Guerin Catholic; Haylea Crandall from Crawford County; and Gloria Miller from Westview.

Match 2 at 10 a.m.
West 25-19, East 25-20, East 25-17; Total: East 69, West 62

This was a close pretty match. The West won the first set, but the East rallied to grab the next two sets. The East ended up winning the match by seven points. Receiving the Don Shondell Award were Sophia Manor of Muncie Burris from the East and Alaina Thorne of Washington from the West.

East Roster
Allison Daves, Abigail McCoy, and Mallory Cox from Indianapolis Scecina; Sophia Manor and Mara Perry from Muncie Burris; Ally Furnish from Switzerland County; Jade Baker from South Adams; and Aija Bowman from Southport.

West Roster
Madelyn Rinck, Annie Smith, and Asia Povlin from Sullivan; Alaina Thorne and Bella Thorne from Washington; Bailey Keusch and Tatiana Delgado from Southridge; Journey Jundos from West Lafayette; Chakira Spurlock from Pike; and Taylor Renick from Southport.

Match 3 at 11:30 a.m.
East 25-13, West 25-12, East 25-20; Total: East 62, West 58

This was the closest match of the day. The East won the first and third sets while the West won the second. The East won the match by four points.
Receiving the Don Shondell Award were Sophia Corey of Mississinewa from the East and Meghan Gaffigan of Chesterton from the West.

East Roster
Marissa Naylor, Meaghan Kramer, and Ashleigh Ream from Southwestern (Hanover); Lauren Stout from Bluffton. Sophia Corey from Mississinewa; Kamzi Gross from Trinity Lutheran; Avery Sharp from Mishawaka Marian; Megan Van Gheem from Indianapolis Ritter; and Bella Dearinger from Delta.

West Roster
Jaleigh Crawford, Annaka Wilson, and Kelsey Ruder from Elwood; Emma Ekblaw, Katie Nelson, and Meghan Gaffigan from Chesterton; Lexi Wade, Pipar Wade, and Kylie Filo from South Central (Union Mills); and Morgan Barrette from Morgan Township.